Cured By Custard

The photographer is out IN. But, she has nothing to show for it this week.

It appears that I am finally out from under my strep throat/flu/cold coma that bludgeoned me on Monday afternoon. I went to bed early Monday evening, and wasn’t able to stay awake for more than an hour or so at a time on either Tuesday or Wednesday. Today I slept in again, but finally emerged from my Nyquil haze at around noon, and was able to do some laundry and unload the dishwasher. Progress. I’ve also been able to swallow without grimacing, take a shower, do some reading, and read some email.

What I have not done is take out my camera to do my Wednesday Lens Day post, but I will do my best to tackle something creative before next week. Provided that I get my scheduled workouts in first, that is. Yes, I have sinned, and sinned hard. The only food I have been able to taste/swallow the last few days is frozen custard and grilled cheese sandwiches. Even the most righteous of you fitness babes can admit that it’s hard to enjoy healthy, crunchy fruits and veggies when your throat is too swollen and coated in salty mucus to override your gag reflexes. So, I was weak. Or, I was so weak. Either way, my fatness and I have a score to settle on the elliptical, ASAP. Oh yeah, it is so ON. Wait … unless … is it possible that the magical, creamy custard has cured me?  😉

I’ve got to keep this short and sweet, but before I sign off, I’d like to share a mushy public display of affection for my husband Malcolm, aka “Dr. Love”. He has been patient, sweet, and has waited on me hand and foot for the last two days. Mal, you lift my spirits and make me smile, even when I feel my worst. YOU are my real cure, and my reason. I love you, and I am so lucky to be your girl. Thanks again, for “carrying” me. Again.

3 thoughts on “Cured By Custard

  1. I am glad you are feeling better. I know what it is like to be sick, and how awful it feels to want to workout and want to eat the right food nd your body will have no parts of allowing you to do so.
    I think we discussed my juice and soup diet when we were out and how I hated having to give my body what it needed, but that if I didnt it would just be longer until I got back to fighting form again.
    Yay for having a caring partner in crime to take care of you while you were sick. I generally just want to be left alone… I get crabby and cranky and it’s not pretty. So take it slow, and climb back on! Time to get movin girly! 🙂

    • Thanks, girlie. I am taking things slow (maybe too slow — no workouts since Monday), but my body hasn’t given me much choice. I never, never take naps … but this week it seems that every time I’d sit for more than 10 minutes, I’d fall asleep. I am still a little tired, but at least now I am able to catch up on some of the stuff I didn’t get done during the week. I am planning to get in the gym on Monday, provided that my cough is under control. Gym etiquette must be considered, ya know. 🙂

      And yes, I do love that boy who takes care of me, whether I think I need it, or not. I was cranky, too … I just go crazy being out of commission. Lucky for him I didn’t have enough energy to get too mean! 😉

  2. I hope you continue to feel better!! And that’s awesome you have such great support from Mal. Keep resting and listening to your body!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

