Ta Ta, January

Last day of January. I hope that my lack of motivation exits along with this cold, miserable month.

Okay, it wasn’t total misery. I did have a wonderful time getting away with my thoughtful (and spontaneously romantic) husband in Grand Marais last week. But prior to that, I have been in a major funk that I just can’t seem to shake. I started the year in a pretty good state of mind, but then there was the passing of my grandmother, and the worry and sadness I have been dealing with (or maybe, not dealing with) has been making me weak against food temptation. Mentally, I really want to be at the gym every day, but physically it seems like too much of a demand on my body since I have been eating the wrong foods — and too much of them.

I find myself tied up in all the time, hustle and effort required to go to the gym. It’s so cold (remember, I’m an Arizona native), so I need layers of coats, gloves, boots, my  phone, my keys, my gym bag, a snack… so much more thought is required when trekking out to the gym than if I simply work out at home. So, I tell myself I’ll do a workout here, and more often than not, I get sidetracked on something else. I know I’ve done this before, and I’ll do it again, but I feel pathetic, nonetheless.

Tomorrow morning I have time carved out for the gym, and I am actually excited to go, despite the fact that I feel as lousy and lethargic as I have felt in months. It should help that I will have everything laid out and ready, so I don’t have to stress about the time it takes just getting out the door.

On the bright side, when I get this low it’s pretty easy to be optimistic. I am really looking forward to February — the slightly longer days will mean more opportunities to get out and use my camera. I am looking forward to the big melt that is sure to be around the corner, so I can get outside for a nice long walk again. I look forward to taking obligatory shots of the flowers that will soon bloom in my front yard, and the scenes that I expect we will see as we plan another road trip, hopefully early in the Spring.

Speaking of road trips, here are a few shots of the scenic, sleepy (albeit frozen) little town of Grand Marais, MN. Much thanks to the East Bay Suites for their hospitality and gorgeous, yet cozy accommodations. We felt completely at home there and had the BEST time. I can’t wait to go back again! Don’t you just love lighthouses? If not, too bad — because I do!  😉

Lighthouse I

Lighthouse II

Lighthouse III

Lighthouse IV

2 thoughts on “Ta Ta, January

  1. Beautiful pictures!! I’m worried that you’re not making healthy choices!! Come up with a plan, and then enlist some help and accountability!! Set some goals and think about what you are really trying to accomplish!! We believe in you.

    • Ann, “not making healthy choices” is unfortunately an understatement. Your concerns are spot-on, but your encouragement is helpful! I am working on this, and have planned out our meals for the rest of the week. (It’s going to be a busy one, so hopefully I have planned well.)

      Of course these meals are contingent on me getting the grocery shopping done (hopefully this evening), so I have a variety of healthy options available. I did get to the gym this morning, too – and I felt every heartbeat today. Oof!! The body’s engine runs much better on lean meats, whole grains, fruits and veggies than it does on pizza. :/

Leave a Reply

